PDA

View Full Version : Map Altering

Gunner
May 21st, 2011, 15:34
From time to time I like to click on join server's and see who's playing my maps.
And from time to time I join the server and thank the members for running my map.
It's the least I can do. Today I joined a server to do just that and was surprised
at what I found. Changes made to my map. A dozen or so iwi's were changed
to the clans images. Wall pictures, signs, vehicle plates, and more. Even the
Welcome to nuketown sign was defaced as well as the custom trailer I made for
Codutility and Capt.com.

About two years ago before I started doing my own maps, I was an admin on a
website and I ran the sniper server. I made the mistake of changing some of
the images in a SPS map and got my ASS handed to me on a silver platter
by the mapping community for doing so. And let me tell you, being called
a map thief is not something you get over with easy. Me and my clan suffered
greatly for something I did and was unaware of what I was doing was wrong
by the mapping community. I apologized so many times to so many people
just to make things right for my clan and me. That's why I started making
my own maps. But now that it's happened to me, I know how SPS felt. I can
understand if an image is offensive or racist in anyway, which I will
never put into any of my maps, can and should be removed from an iwd file
so it doesn't show in game. I'm cool with that. And I'm even cool if a clan
wants to add their logo somewhere in the map when they run it on their server.
But the guy who did this went a little overboard and changed way too many.
It almost didn't feel like my map any more. So I sent a email to the
admin of the website to please restore the map back the way it should be and
if they refuse, to remove the map from their server. I won't say who they are
right now. I want to give them time to restore the map. I will check back in
a few days to see. If they refuse and don't comply, then I'll let you know who