PDA

View Full Version : Techset errors

WarMachine
May 3rd, 2013, 17:34
Its my first time working in COD5 radiant, and I've come across techset errors that show up when the map is done compiling. This is one of the lines that Im getting:

ERROR: Couldn't open techniqueSet 'techsets/l_sm_r0c0_t1c1n1s1_sco.techset'
Cannot create technique set. The offending 2-layer combination is:
wc/zm_conc_2tone
wc/berlin_decal_trim_metal_grate
failed loading material '*0_1n' for asset 'maps/test.d3dbsp' found in source file '../zone_source/test.csv'

The zm_conc_2tone is a custom texture.

The techsets errors appear at some places only in the level.

I have never seen this error when working in COD4, and this is my first time working in COD5, so I have no idea what to do.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

CaptCom
May 3rd, 2013, 18:33
Just for fun ( joke ) try to make the brushes where these textures are applied " details ".
Or remove the offending textures.

One thing I saw with CoD5, its when you want to add decals, the best is to use a brush textured "decal nodraw" instead of a patch/mesh.

Another thing when I create custom textures in CoD5 I use jpg format. For decals I use tga.

Gerry
May 3rd, 2013, 19:49
As far as I know, Techsets are combinations of layered textures that the fastfile compiler seems to group.
Not sure why this is however what I have noticed is that this seems to occur when you have layered textures with differing sources.
For example:
Texture A uses a colour & a normal map
Texture B uses a colour, normal & a spec map
This will result in a techset issue.
Give Texture A a spec map or remove the spec map from Texture B & it should be fine.
Not sure what works with what.

Those missing textures in your compiled map are where these combinations occur.

WarMachine
May 3rd, 2013, 19:49